In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Some people argue that more and more people prefer to go to big shops outside of town, which cause the downfall of small town shops. In addition, it is becoming increasingly popular to use vehicles and many hurdles may arise for people without personal vehicles. From my perspective, I believe that detrimental effects of this variation can overshadow its benefits. There are some compelling reasons why the closure of the small shops in town can cause negative consequences. To begin with, those who are not in possession of a car standing most affected because they could have to squander an enormous amount of time moving to long distance shops. As a result, they do not have more time for some priorities such as work or deadlines. Moreover, bankruptcies among town-centre shops can cause unexpected damage to national economy. It means that a severe economic decline can occur in cities where stores are no longer present. The increase in the use of cars for the commuting needs of shoppers is the problem. Traffic congestion has become worse due to the higher number of vehicles on the street. Furthermore, a large amount of pollutants emitted from means will rise, which affects adversely to people ’s health. Last but not least, this modification in shopping can encourage people to move to big cities to live. Hence, the basic needs such as housing and streets are increasing, which creates such great pressure. In summary, shopping trends in big cities have many adverse impacts to people and country.