"Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion."

People have different views about outstanding environmental issues nowadays. While the danger of extinction worsens day by day in the world, I firmly believe that some other significant problems cause the harmful environment on the earth. On the one hand, it is no doubt that if everyone has an awareness of safeguarding the ecosystem, then our environment will improve for the better. For instance, animals play an essential role in maintaining the ecological balance. Unfortunately, many particular species of them can hardly survive in their home forest or sea any longer, which will break the food chain and even lead to food scarcity worldwide. Although the extinctions do not happen through one night, it generates the vicious cycle even though we cannot sense it daily. Therefore, a balanced ecosystem is a vital issue of environmental protection. On the other hand, global warming and climate change are the more considerable challenges. Due to pollution and the greenhouse effect, global temperatures are rising. As a result, it causes the melting of polar ice and subsequent rise of sea levels, which harms our survival conditions. Climate change also leads to more frequent occurrences of drought and flooding. These all affect food production and both human's and animals' health. For example, the number of cancer patients increases in many countries due to the highly polluted urban areas. Therefore, global warming and climate change are treated seriously than ever internationally. In conclusion, I believe that there are various worsening environmental problems, extinction of wildlife is one of the main issues. However, global warming, climate change, and related problems are more crucial to us as they could threaten our existence on the earth.