What are the pros and cons for children of watching television? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your knowledge or experience

With increase in the technological advancements, paradigm shift has been observed in the viewership of television. Off late, it has been recorded that children watching television has outmatched adults. This sudden shift is embedded with some pros and cons which are discussed in forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, on one hand, television acts as stress buster for children after their stressful school hours. Television acts as catalyst in changing the erratic mood of kids. TV shows like “Tom and Jerry” incorporates child humor which is said to pacify children. Moreover, television keeps children preoccupied, so that kids cannot bother their parents while working. For instance, a recent survey conducted by “Global Times” stated that 80% of parent’s use television as a tool to control behavior of their kids. On the other hand, Firstly, Television can be addictive. Makers of TV shows or cartoons, directs a play with the sole purpose of attracting the young minds and to cause addiction. Cartoons can hamper academic life of a child if watched in excess. Moreover, Addiction caused by television can lead to serious health issues like obesity and dry eyes. Secondly, Kids in tender age, do not understand morals. They often misjudge fantasy to reality. This can create grieve issues. For instance, a recent newspaper headline stated that a 7 years old kid, somewhere in Japan, jumped off from the building pretending to be “The Superman”. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of children watching television, with proper parental guidance cons can be mitigated to some extent.