Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that over the last years, life expectancy has considerably grown thanks to advances in medicine and other aspects of human beings' lives. Thus, a segment of society believes that the retirement age should be extended. I personally do not agree with this notion. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion with relevant examples. To commence with the reasons, first and foremost, raising the retirement age will not ensure productivity in the workplace. More specifically, people in their 60th struggle to do physically demanding tasks. Take, for example, construction. Individuals working on the construction site are not able to work as productively as younger people. Additionally, according to American scientists, people after 60 start getting health issues, such as diabetes, muscles pain, and problems related to memory drop and many more. Subsequently, engaging in intellectually demanding jobs may be challenging for some retirees as well. Secondly, delaying retirement eligibility risks aggravating the problem of youth unemployment. It is well known that young people struggle to find employment. This is because employers want to hire candidates with more experience and do not want to spend their funds on training younger employees. For instance, many graduates who want to become teachers cannot get their desired position as it is generally occupied by senior employees. To conclude, I am convinced that raising the retirement age will lead to more issues related to youth unemployment and inefficient work. Public money should better be spent on society needs rather than showcase projects.