Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever-growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

It is often argued that people can make a profit from public parks to develop houses or businesses. Although it can create jobs and enhance economies for the increasing population, I strongly disagree with this point of view. First of all, green areas play an important role in maintaining people’s health. Trees in recreational playgrounds absorb carbon dioxide and other chemicals in the air and this helps cleaning the environment for the city. People can enjoy better air quality while exercise and stay fit. It can lead to a stronger body, a healthier immune system, and fewer chances to catch the illness. Moreover, public parks offer space which keeps everyone away from the noises of the traffic jams or stress in working. The trees and flowers can make our lives more colourful and less boring. Being close to nature is not only good for physical activities but also it can improve our mental health. Besides, other species such as birds and insects can also take advantage of public gardens. Since parks often have a diverse range of plants and trees, these places prevent natural habitats from being destroyed. If green areas are converted into parking lots or shopping centres, there will be nowhere for birds to build nests, plants can barely survive and insects can extinct. In conclusion, green spaces serve an equally important purpose in the citizens’ lives and should not be replaced. I suggest the governments build more suburbs centres as is would provide more employment opportunities, boost economic growth and relieve air pollution and traffic problems in the cities. impractical areas.