Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. To what extent the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Due to the advancement of technology, the world has become one big place. People are viewing the same shows, they are using the same social media sites, and they have the same sense of fashion. There are some benefits and drawbacks to this trend, and I will explain why I believe the benefits far outweigh the negatives. Nowadays, people from all over the world are more similar to each other than ever before. There are plethora of advantages to this. Firstly, people will understand each other more. They are more aware of other cultures, thanks to the diversity of actors on the tv shows, people are able to see the cultures and habits of TV stars on the other side of the world. In addition, regardless of where people live in the world, they will begin to have similar views. Because they have the same idols that they love and imitate, they will start to become more alike, and eventually have similar views. This will reduce the conflict globally. However, there are some disadvantages to this phenomenon. Before, countries had unique identity and culture. People would enjoy travelling because they would be fascinated by the different cultures and habits. They would try new cuisines and explore the unique architecture. However, this is no longer the case, now majority of European countries speak English, eat cheese burgers and the public wears the same brands. The special identity is lost. I think in the near future this may cause identity crises in the upcoming generations. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages to the world becoming one homogenous place, I think the benefits overshadow the negatives. This way, the conflict between countries will decrease.