Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services. Do you agree or disagree?

Prioritizing funds for non-public services by the government has always been scrutinized. Some believe that the taxpayer’s money should be utilised only for the betterment of the healthcare and the infrastructure facilities of the nation. However, this essay will argue why ignoring the fields of art, music and culture is preposterous as they are a source of income for many, and they lead to holistic development of the children. To begin with, many people argue that government should invest only in the construction of roads and hospitals. Till the time the public is not provided with these basic needs, prioritizing them over anything else becomes important. For instance, until 1985 in India, the ruling party diverted the entire taxpayer’s money for a number of nation-building activities since the prevailing condition of public services used to be extremely appalling. Therefore, the idea of the government not focusing on a service that does not affect the society directly, does have some merit. However, completely ignoring the fields of music and culture when a substantial portion of the population rely on them for their bread and butter, does not make sense. Secondly, skills in these areas foster collaboration and encourage teamwork in children. A number of budding artists rely on the government-sponsored events for showcasing their skills and building a career for themselves. Likewise, allocating resources to schools for making adolescents learn arts and music should be made mandatory as they help in their holistic development. For instance, as per a recent survey, in India more than 40 percent of the professionals in these areas have been able to alleviate poverty through the cultural events sponsored by the local authorities. Furthermore, children participating in them have gone on to make successful careers. Hence, I believe that the idea of completely ignoring these fields by the politicians for the sake of providing public service is unreasonable. To conclude, allocating funds by the ruling party for non-public service activities has always been debatable. Few argue that the tax collected should be utilised only for developing the country’s infrastructure like roads and hospitals. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that the fields of art, culture and music should get their due as they are essential for a child’s overall growth and there are several professionals who make ends meet by making a career in such domains