In a number of countries, some people thinks it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is often argued by society members if large investments should be perfomed to build new railway lines to speed up locomotion between cities or to improve already existing highway lines. The paragraphs below will outline both points of view and expose why I think that investing in metro would be favourable to the population. To begin with, there are two main reasons to invest in new railroads rather than in common collective road transportation. The first one is that presenting another choice of public transport would divide passengers and avoid buses from getting crowded. For instance, Rio de Janeiro, a Brazilian city, dispose of train and bus stations along its territory, thus, workers who have not earned their car yet, can choose between a myriad of options to commute. Moreover, another reason to justify this notion is that it could positively help people who work or study far from their hometown to travel back and forth daily, without the need of renting a place to spend the week. In stark contrast, some individuals claim that investing in already existing highways to better bus mobility would be more effective to save funds from public safes as it would not be necessary to start a construction from the very beginning and that money could be invested in other sectors. Furthermore, spending sums in highways to support mass transit automobiles would save citizens' money, since doing investments to build favourable streets for traffic improvement would encourage individuals to buy bus tickets instead fuel their vehicles, as it is more affordable. To conclude, although both sides have some merits, in my opinion, constructing railway lines would be interesting for the population as it would open up other possibilities to commute, creating a faster locomotion option for travellers. Therefore, in spite of the financial investment, it would be worth it.