Mental health concerns are a growing issue for many people around the world. What are some reasons for poor mental health, and what can governments do to support citizens’ mental health?

Mental health issues are profound worldwide; however, they tend to be ignored by ordinary cities and even some experts in human societies. In my view, personal conditions including experience, high-level stress and lack of governments ' support often lead to these health issues. Therefore, governments should initiate some strategies to educate individuals, support workers and facility research to contribute to people's well-being. Many sufferers with mental health issues result from their personal experiences, especially those in their childhood. Many studies show that these sufferers often had experienced physical or mental abuses when they were young. Their tragic events often put them at risk to develop mental health issues such as depression or PTSD even years later after they grew up. In addition, medical research also provides many shreds of evidence that many mental health issues tend to occur in families, which means that genes in humans’ cells may also contribute to people suffering mental health issues. At the level of individuals, handling mental health issues is to educate people on how to take care of their health, especially mental health, how to monitor their health condition and when to seek assistance from their health care providers or other healthcare professionals. Nowadays, with the arrival of modern technology, competition in workplaces or in all industrial sectors have become extremely harsh among employees or entrepreneurs. As a result, people have been under tremendous stress, and in the long run, this long-term stress often influenced people ’s mental health by making them burned out and exhausted. In addition, nowadays, it is difficult for working adults to separate their private lives from their professional ones due to digital devices which offer methods such as social media or video calls to keep users to be accessible 24/7. This makes people feel more stressed and eventually have high chance to develop mental health issues. Lack of support or strategies from local governments or communities often contributes to high rates of mental health issues. According to the history of medicine development, mental health issues only have been paid attention for the last two decades, and moreover, much theoretical research and clinical studies have been carried out recently. Experts such as psychiatrists are still unable to solve myriad puzzles relevant to mental health issues. Facilities or services to tackle mental health issues are limited worldwide. Thus, to improve services relevant to mental health, local governments should invest more funding to maintain or establish more health services and facilities for patients with psychological issues. Certainly, battling mental health issues tend to be a ubiquitous topic for current experts, and in terms of the reasons that cause people to suffer mental health disorders, governments should invest more funding in creating a harmonious living environment for people of all ages, paying attention to workers' stress index and funding more research on mental health studies.