Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Having a good friend is an absolute blessing of life, however the quality that defines a good friend have always been questioned. It is often argued that whether friends should have a similar perspective towards almost everything or having different opinions from time to time between friends brings more benefits. This essay will outline why some people believe that it is necessary to have healthy arguments with friends, but why it is better to have friends who can agree with each other. It is feasible to believe that disagreements between friends can play a role in regard to personal growth. To be more specific, while people argue about different opinions, they can learn new perspectives, knowledge and ideas. That is to say, if people have friends that one have a different opinion to another, it will result in having nourishing discussions and benefit each other to grow more. So people have sufficient reasons to insist that having friends with different thoughts is beneficial. However, the quality of friends does consist in neither personal improvement nor obtaining more knowledge, it is close to mental support. To explain, people can learn knowledge and acquire different views of life or subjects from other options such as a teacher, a colleague, the internet. However they are not able to replace the role of a friend which is being next to each other and support with heart. Therefore, it is of paramount importance for friends to have similar opinions to rely on each other. In conclusion, there are definitely some advantages from being friends with someone whose opinion differs from another, as it could light up to new views of any matters and prevent from staying in closed thoughts. Nevertheless, it is essential to remember that friends are there to support each other mentally not educationally. Thus, the quality of good friends is subject to being friendly and supportive rather than being against one another.