Many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether mobile phones should be regulated in public areas including common sites at school, in-stores and transport hubs has become progressive contentious. In my opinion, while this notion is an effective implication on social interactions, a complete ban is unrealistic and not feasible. The frequently cited rationale for this reform being viable is the reinforced communication that it would bring. People these days tend to stare at their phones most of the time and make minimal efforts to hold conversations in public. One of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in public spots including bus stops, parks and supermarkets. Compare this with decades ago before the advent of smartphones, our former generations had to resort to talking with each other, or at least reading a book to curb social anxiety. Had mobile phones been limited to use in such places, there would have a carry-on effect on potential friendships, interactive conversations and youngsters being more sociable and dynamic. Albeit I concede the merits of this development like the one mentioned, I would still contend that banning phones is purely theoretical. The majority of jobs nowadays are involved with mobile usage and these devices have become indispensable. This can be most apparently seen in the cases of doctors or teachers, whose jobs would necessitate being available by phone throughout the day, so as is common with library officers and bus operators. Thus, mobile phones restricted to use in the workplace seem irrelevant. Moreover, they have served as important escapes for people to minimise boredom during breaks and while waiting. Therefore, allowing phone usage in shared places confers a valid standpoint as they have become not only a form of entertainment but also a key ingredient in working life. In conclusion, the value of this proposal cannot outweigh its pernicious effect as this might disrupt daily operations at work. In my final thought, governors and regulators should propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance in the use of mobile phones in public.