Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, there is an increasing reliance on digital technology, and this is particularly true when it comes to communication, medical practices, and transportation operations. However, some sceptics might say that we are so dependent on technology that it could cause catastrophic situations. I partially agree with this opinion and will explain my thoughts in this essay. When people are overly dependent on technology, it has a potentially harmful effect if they do not possess adequate cyber security literacy. Let's take the possibility of data bleaching as an example. When staff at a company do not have enough knowledge of how the Internet works, hackers can attack the organisation's security system to extract confidential data and sell it to buyers. This will have a grave effect on the company if the data is extremely sensitive. In the case of transport operations, it is indisputable that there are certain benefits of technological adoption, but it should be cautious about the detrimental effects that come with it. For instance, Japan has been renounced for its cutting-edge technology, and it uses that high-tech technology to operate its train system. However, if the technology were to be disrupted at any point in time, it would be disastrous for the commuters, as they would not be able to make it to the office on time. With that being said, there would not be much effect on technology in the medical field. As it is mainly used in the diagnostic stages, the main operation step will be done by experts or professionals, such as doctors or surgeons. Therefore, I believe that technology is not very influential in the medical field, as most operations are manual; only minor support is needed from technology. All in all, digital technology has become common in our everyday lives, especially in the fields of communication, medicine, and transport. Although there is a potential danger that over-reliance on technology could harm mankind, I believe that it is still manageable in certain sectors, such as the medical field, where most of the activities are operated manually.