Over population of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

So many problems have erupted from overpopulation of Urban areas. This essay will discus some of them and recommend some ways that government and individuals can curb this menace. Firstly, one of the complications of overpopulation in cities is disease outbreak. There are so many people that engage in various unhealthy habits like smoking and because housing are compacted with little spacing due to overcrowding, individuals can come down with disease like pneumonia. Secondly, uprising in carbon dioxide emissions is another trouble that arises from overpopulation as there is an increased use of fossil fuels in modernized power plants and cars in these cites these days which causes carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere to elevate constantly. Nevertheless, there are potential ways to provide solutions to this problem or at least reduce it. One of which is that government should move some of the industries and companies away from the metropolises and site them in rural settlements which will pull away some of the residents to those areas thereby reducing the numbers in the city. Also, on the other hand, individuals can play a role by reducing habits like smoking and use of cars unnecessarily thereby suppressing the rate of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. Individuals on this note should practice new habits like walking or cycling to nearby locations. To conclude, it can be seen that the effects of overpopulation in metropolis can not be overemphasized as they pose a lot of threats and there are some steps in which governments and individuals can take to reduce the effects to a minimum.