Too much emphasis has been put on going to university for academic study. We should encourage more people to receive vocational training because of the needs for tradespeople like plumbers and electricians. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people contend that attending vocarional schools should be advocated considering the overemphasis of tertiary education. This emphasis of attending universities is reasonable in this knowledge-based society since well-educated people have a great potential to accelerate the development of industries and find well-paid jobs. In this knowledge-based society, due to rapid development of science and technology, people need to acquire so much knowledge that they are competent of undertaking various complex work. It is studying in universities that provides them with this chance to study those theories. And thus they can promote the development of industries and get high salaries. Instead of obtaining academic ability, what vocational education teaches is mainly basic skills which cannot enable students to find good jobs. Vocational training should not be highlighted much because students who only obtain skills will meet the glass ceiling of industries. What students learn in vocational schools is restricted to skills and simple knowledge. This would put them in a dilemma once those people face difficulties regarding technical theories. And their limited knowledge is not helpful for them to be promoted to management positions. On the other hand obtaining a vocational degree might be a good choice for those people who show talent in less knowledge-based work. People have distinct talents in various aspects and some are talented in skills and less knowledge-demanding jobs. Vocational education can help them show talent in those aspects. In conclusion, I partly agree with this idea but attending universities should be paid much attention.