Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that forcing young children to do voluntary work during their leisure time would not only have a positive impact on themselves but also on their societies. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement because it distorts and demolishes the inner essence of volunteer. Some would claim that asking teenagers to volunteer in projects during their free time would provide this category a well-round perspective about the importance of helping others without expecting any monetary return from this work. This is because they tend to waste their time in doing useless activities, such as playing video games and chatting with their friends online, which diverts their attention from focusing on allocating time for giving back to their community. For that reason, it would open their mind to the virtues of contributing to their societies. Although this way might teach teenagers about the advantages of doing unpaid work to themselves as well as their communities, it would not help them to effectively embrace the concept of volunteering. This is because if they are forced to volunteer, it would become more challenging for them to understand the moral value of offering aid to others, and therefore they are more likely to find excuses to avoid giving back to their communities and start thinking of what benefit themselves only. A typical example of this is that when a school ask young students to participate in charities campaigns such as cleaning parks, and taking care of elderly after school, a high proportion of them never shows up or expresses their dissatisfaction as they believe that they are still having the freedom to choose how to spend their time. As a result, teenagers could form wrong opinions and ideas about volunteering. To sum up, requiring youngers to perform voluntary work whenever they have time would help them to understand how this work could contribute to their personality and societies. However, I would disagree with this point of view because it might push them to discard the valuable lesson they could get from this job.