"Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?"

An increasing number of people nowadays choose to work for themselves instead of working for other companies because the more and more young generation is looking for more freedom in their life. However, I believed that the main disadvantages of this flexible working style are lack of income stability and the effect on self-growth. Some people are keen to have a balanced life for physical and mental freedom, escaping working time restrictions. Also, with the higher competition in all industries, the higher pressure transfers to the employees. For those reasons, people start to work for themselves, especially the young generation with some expertise. For instance, those project base jobs are more prevalent in design-related ones, which an individual could easily accomplish within the required time. It is undoubtedly conducive to managing time for a quality life. However, not all types of jobs are perfectly suitable for being self-employed. For example, most businesses require teamwork with various knowledgeable players, self-funding and market contacts. Therefore, hardly can people who lack working experience be achievable. As a result, without more chances to learn more from an organisation or a company, it would not be helpful to grow yourself to get ready for a long term career life. Additionally, it is obvious that since most self-employed businesses are projects base, which brings uncertainties to cause difficulty in getting the deals in stable situations. Compared to work for other companies, the above disadvantages are more evident in many industries. In conclusion, I believe that being self-employed is a good choice of working style in particular industries. Nevertheless, working for others is more realistic to the majority.