It is too expensive to look after and repair old building .Tho money should spend on building new modern buildings instead .To what extent do you agree or disagree.

People argue that money should be spent on constructing modern buildings instead of taking care of and mending old buildings since it is not economical. I completely disagree with this opinion because of the sustainability and tourism revenue. The first reason for keeping the old buildings and rather fixing them than building the new ones is due to the environmental impacts. Constructing new buildings requires a high need for new materials; however, renovating old ones can be more environmentally friendly compared to new constructions, in this way, it helps to reduce the manufacture of building materials that contribute significantly to global warming. According to many statistics, the construction industry accounts for a large proportion of carbon emissions that are really harmful to the living environment. Limiting the number of new building constructions can reduce the detrimental impacts on our environment. Another key reason is looking after the old buildings can help to increase the revenue of a city's tourism. This is because older buildings often feature unique architectural styles and craftsmanship that may be lost with modern constructions. Restored old buildings can attract tourists, providing economic benefits that can outweigh the initial restoration costs. For example, in an ancient city called Hoi An in Vietnam, a lot of tourists are attracted by a wide range of ancient houses along the riverbank with a scenic view. This offers the city a great amount of revenue annually just because of the old building restorations. In conclusion, while initial restoration costs cannot be economical, the long-term effects of fixing the old buildings are of more significance than building new buildings since it can help to reduce environmental impacts as well as attract more tourists.