The internet has become profoundly efficient and popular that people choose it as a platform to learn. Some believe that it would eventually replace the need for books. Do you agree or disagree?

In spite of the advancement of technology in the past decades, the worldwide web brought much convenience to our daily lives, to the extent that it replaces books on many occasions, specifically, the education section. There is a controversial discussion about whether the internet would replace books as a platform to learn. In my opinion, despite the paperback books have their role in the school, the efficiency brought by the internet would eventually replace the need for books. We will discuss this possible trend in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, the internet provides a more efficient learning platform than that of books. There are numerous tools invented in relation to internets, such as Kindle Reader and IPad. In some developed countries, the school has been using these electronic devices to replace books. It has been proven that both teachers and students are benefited from it; teachers could easily access many internet resources such as websites and photos, and hence it enhances the ability of teachers to give information to students. Secondly, the internet is a better learning platform, that is able to store up more academic resources online. In the past, it is extremely difficult to store up paperback resources, given its size and the cost of upkeeping; the condition of the books would easily affect by humility. However, ever since the appearance of online digital books, schools are allowed to store up thousands of books without any cost of upkeeping. For instance, in 2014, the first digital library was built in a university in the US. It has storage for over 1 million digital books. Some commentators argue that despite the tremendous advantages brought by the internet, it is still difficult for it to replace physical books in the near future for it has a higher cost on equipment. I agree with the difficulties for internet tools to replace all books, especially in some undeveloped nations the cost of setting up internet tools and devices is extremely difficult. However, it is predictable that in the near future the cost of internet equipment will decrease due to its massive production. Nowadays, the price of purchasing a computer is lower than that of 10 years ago benefited from the popularity in the market. The cost of internet equipment is foreseen to decrease in future, and hence it would eventually replace books. To conclude, there is no doubt the advantage brought by the internet. It would eventually replace books as a better learning platform.