Some people think that it is difficult for poor people or people from rural areas to go to university. So that the universities should make it especially easy for them. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Further education has become increasingly common nowadays for young generations. However, due to the economic situation in some families, it is suggested that universities should lower admission standards for these impoverished applicants. I completely disagree with this idea and I will explain my opinion with examples in this essay. First and foremost, it defies the target of tertiary education by giving more spots to penniless teenagers,not outstanding performance students. This is because university education mainly aims at providing specialized and general knowledge to young generations in certain areas, which has high requirements on intelligence. If a student is given privileges due to needy family status instead of recruiting fairly according to the academic performance and the intelligence quotient, it is easy to foresee that most teenagers will lose their motivation and interest in studying well and getting better scores. As a result, universities will eventually admit less high-performance students while more starveling students, which definitely betray the keystone of cultivating ridgepole. Furthermore, easier admission procedures for applicants in poverty may create social inequality and conflicts. To be more specific, further education institutions should choose their student by the same standard which is the merit of students. Otherwise, some outstanding students may be neglected and they would probably feel disappointed about society. For example, several American universities used to select their candidates based on their social classes, as a consequence, a massive of students missed their opportunists to have their college life. This inequality caused a severe shooting on the campus by one of the rejected applicants. In conclusion, even though there are requirements of using lower recruiting standards on poor students, I believe this solution is impractical since it may lead to social unfairness and the ruin of real tertiary education.