Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many believe that children should make their own decisions when it comes to day to day matters, while others insist that children will be selfish decision-makers if they are allowed to make their own choices. I believe, although there should be some space for children to choose their food, clothes and entertainment activities children should always take advice from others prior coming to conclusions about their choices. When a child starts making his/her own day to day selections regarding the diet, garments and enjoyment, that will lead to an independent, critical thinking, analytical person. The child may start thinking about which should be the preferred choice between fast food and healthy food. Gradually the child will understand the choices he/she needs to make for a better life. It is also often argued that children are less experienced when compared to adults so they are not matured enough to make their own day to day choices. Apart from experience, since children are also financially less independent; it is always advised that, it’s better if children can make decisions based on recommendations of adults. A parent or a responsible adult can always recommend healthy food for children far easier than children. In conclusion, although then and their children should be given the freedom to make selections for their own wishes which affect them, it’s highly advised that children should depend on parents advise.