It is sometimes said that ‘travel broadens the mind’. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In recent years, the development of aerospace industry has enabled billions of people to visit various places, including foreign countries and even outer space. As the proverb goes "Travel broadens the mind", many believe that this new activity could greatly benefit us and I do strongly agree. The reasons to such merits lie in the fact that travelling allows people to learn deeply about a culture as well as eliminates any possible prejudices about a particular group of people. Firstly, people who visit overseas countries, whether it is temporary or permanent, can acquire further insights into the place they are staying. Regardless of many detailed descriptions by tourist bloggers, these reviews can hardly replace the excitement of our own hands-on experience. Immersing in a foreign environment would improve one's command of that particular language. Only by actually leading these foreign lifestyles can tourists get to know the informal aspects of a regions such as street foods, streetwear, and slangs. Additionally, people may also discover unpleasant sides of that specific culture that would never be mentioned in the news or travelling Change the form of the verb travel show examples brochures. For instance, numerous Japanese tourists have reported their surprise at the prevalence of red light districts, which are nowhere to be found in official tourist reviews. Overall, travelling is so beneficial in a way that it teaches us more about a certain society than a brochure can ever do. With regard to those who have deep-rooted prejudices for the people of a country, travelling can showcase the beauty of the natives and hence, help to dispel the existing hostility. Since a nation usually earn a bad reputation for its political disputes or through a few ill-behaved representatives, people often make assumptions about a person due to his or her nationality. Take China as an example, a country that has been known for taking advantages of smaller countries and also for its noisy tourists. Chinese people are therefore often discriminated against and even being addressed with a racist slur when they arrive at other places. However, a trip to China mainland would indicate the opposite as the people here are as hospitable and lovely as any other areas in the world. In short, visiting different countries also corrects our narrow-minded prejudices by experiencing things as the way they are. In conclusion, travelling to other regions offer tremendous benefits by enriching our knowledge of that particular culture and also eradicating any of our negative assumptions towards its people. It is, therefore, reasonable to engage in such an activity to improve ourselves as a human.