At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

While many countries are experiencing the ageing population due to the longer lifespans nowadays, some countries have larger younger generation than the elderly. Both the elderly and adolescents are valuable assets to the society and I believe the benefits of having larger young generations than the elderly could overcome the disadvantages in two main aspects. Firstly, in terms of the employment population, it is always good the to have younger generation than the older one provided the adolescents could receive proper education. The adolescents could take up more diverse job natures because of their higher adaptivity, creativity as well as energy level. Blue-collar work like cleansing, construction and infrastructure could be hard and difficult jobs for the elderly. The insurance for them to get these types of jobs would also be higher, making them difficult to be employed, Someone may argue that inadequate life experiences in adolescents hinder them from handling more mature jobs. However, one features of the young adults will be their highly-adaptive and fast learning character, making them easy to catch up. However, the weakening of energy level and body in the elderly due to ageing can never be overcome. Secondly, public health and welfare expenses would be higher in city with densely populated with the elderly. There will be more body conditions when we ages including lots of chronic diseases and more regular check-up as well as community support is needed. These would step up a city’s burden in the medical and welfare expenses. The ageing population has been a headache in many countries regarding how to handle the paramount public health services. However, the elderly is always a symbol of wisdom. They share experiences and insights which can never be realised by the youngsters when they are young with their lack of adversities and hardships which the older people have overcome. Therefore, their words and experiences are always inspiring and beneficial to the young generation. Less sharing with less elderly is definitely a disadvantage of having overwhelming young population. Nevertheless, there is only less elderly instead of no, we can surely still be accessible to their advises through out friends, colleagues or social media. To sum up, although there are some drawbacks with less populated elderly in a society, in the long run, in terms of the labour supply and public health and wealth expenses, the pros outweigh the cons, but only if the society can provide enough education to the adolescents.