In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at 4 years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

Timing appropriately the learning process of our children has recently been a matter of debate for many pedagogists. In this regard, while in most of the countries it is believed that children should begin their course of study at four years old, in others prevails the position that a more suitable way is to enter school not before seven or even eight years of age. In this essay I will acknowledge both of these views and explain why I firmly agree with the former. Very few are the countries where, in terms of formal education, it is still thought that starting kids at seven or eight is beneficial. The main reason behind this belief is that children ’s brain is not well developed until seven years of age. On this topic, a small group of scientists claimed that children might find it really stressful to start school too soon, pointing out possible detrimental effects on the learning capabilities according to some behavioural experiments. It is therefore thought that, despite few significant evidence, starting school too early is not beneficial for children and they should not enter primary school before they turn seven or eight. Against the idea of this minority, stands the vast majority of countries where is held the view that the earlier the children begin to study, the better the results are going to be. This is because younger brains are endowed with more plasticity and are way more capable of performing complex tasks than their older counterparts. To prove it, several studies have shown that brain already possesses the capability of carrying out mathematic tasks and, the earlier it is exercised, the better it will adapt during the course of its own development. This concept adapts to every area of the brain, scientists claim, so it is far more convenient to train it as early as possible. For these reasons, it is not surprising that the educated parents firmly hold that children should start primary school as early as four years old. In conclusion, developmental psychology has been the hotspot of the debate in the recent years. And while in few underdeveloped countries is still thought that postponing formal education will entail some sort of benefit, many others have adopted the more illuminated idea that starting children young is a more than beneficial possibility. In this essay I explained why starting formal education for children at four years old is the better option, despite someone thinking that the better one is to delay the process.