In many parts of the world there is continuous converage of sport on television. Some people believe that this discourages the young from taking part In any sports themselves. Discuss this view and give your opinion.

With satellite channels and pay-per-view sporting events reigning the scene, more and more kids spend their time watching sports on television. This trend is addressed by some people claiming that, if protracted, watching tv sports may prevent children from physical activity. In this essay I will acknowledge this view and explain why I firmly disagree. Some claim that spending time watching TV sports may be detrimental for children’s health and reduce their first -person engagement in physical activities. Spending time watching television is unhealthy whatever the programme and, on top of that, the more time is spent in front of the television the more the levels of motivation to perform a task decline. This has been further shown by scientists who, through MRI study of children’s brain before and after watching television, revealed how the dopamine levels of the brain area linked to motivation strongly decreased. Furthermore, witnessing the pinnacle of sports entertainment may take away the thrill and the excitement of performing the same moves on the actual playground. Many in fact, feel as if they are not good enough to perform as well as their sport heroes do. For these reasons many could think that sports on TV are dissuading children from engaging in physical activities. Despite looking unhealthy to the uneducated, time spent watching sports on television may actually be useful for children while, on the contrary, it may reveal itself to be very harmful for their older parents. Watching their hero win a championship may just be the trigger for many kids to play the same game and put tons of effort to reach their goal. Everybody in fact, especially at a young age, has the dream of becoming a superstar like the soccer players in their favourite clubs. In support of that, all the little players from the junior selection of Manchester United declared to their interviewers that they wouldn’t have started playing football if it weren’t for their idols. In addition to that, is not the kids that actually are hampered by the sedentary behaviour of watching sports on the TV. Those who spend much of their free time in front of the screen in spite of taking care of their physical well-being are the adults ranging from 40 to 60 years. The attitude of these brackets of age, alongside with being the worst example possible for their sons, has shown to be one of the main causes of cardiovascular diseases. It is then safe to say that the most endangered from watching TV sport are the adults, whereas the kids may just find it beneficial. In conclusion, while letting our younger friends watch sports on television might be detrimental according to some people, the actual situation is completely different. Watching sports in fact enhances motivation levels in the kids. Their parents in contrast are those who should actually switch off their televisions. In this essay I discussed why, despite seeming a harmful activity, soccer games and sport in general are a good promoter of physical activity from a young age, through leading the kids by example and motivating them to take on bigger and bigger challenges.