Some people prefer to have temporary jobs, which means they only work a few months in a year and use the rest of the time to do what they want. What is your opinion?

Nowadays many people prefer flexible work which helps them to control their work-life balance. This means they work for certain months of the year and utilize the rest for pursuing their own interest. In my opinion, although, there are some benefits to doing this, I believe the demerits outweigh the merits. To begin with, The main disadvantage of opting for temporary jobs is the risk of unemployment. Once a person leaves a job after certain months, it is unpredictable for finding a job in the future. With the standard of living rising every year in many countries, the expenses can be far greater compared to the income earned in a short while. For example, apart from professionals which rely on specific months for business such as freelancers, it is very difficult to find a job nowadays with the growing number of fresh graduates seeking employment each year. Also, personal interest cannot be explored completely without having enough financial savings which are extremely difficult without a fixed source of income. Furthermore, Short-term jobs do not provide enough experience for career growth. They are unable to apply for a bigger role in any specific field as they will always lack experience compared to their competitors. In this situation, there are unsure of continuing their career in their specialized field or sometimes may even settle for a lower salary due to the pressure of getting employed. For Instance, many professional photographers in India, into seasonally based businesses face massive competition and sometimes give discounts to customers more than the market price for the service. To conclude, Though some people agree that part-time jobs can benefit individuals with enough time for personal endeavours, It is really important to have a stable source of income to fulfil them. Unless people are experienced with certain niche jobs, It is important not to risk choosing part-time over full-time.