In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. is the positive or negative development?

There is a prediction that the population of the elderly is forecast to increase in some countries in the future. While there are positive effects if the old generation is dominant. However, I believe that in general there are more drawbacks, thus this situation must be avoided. Firstly, negative development will occur if the number of productive generations decreases. The government will lose in the economic and technological sectors of the country because the elderly have decreased their performance in work and they are not likely to give birth to the young generation to replace them. To illustrate, Japan is a country with a high proportion of the old generation. The younger generation did not want to get married or tends to choose child-free to reduce the cost of living. As a result, the elderly still work in their old age and the performance is low. Secondly, the country will be occupied by plenty of foreign workers. This phenomenon leads to their origin culture disappearing and mingling with new cultures. In the future, it is expected that it will be difficult to find the local people because of multicultural weddings. For instance, in the USA, the population of the elderly is high enough and a lot of foreign labourers are working there. Therefore, the cultures of the USA are very diverse and we cannot find native people who are descended from the tribes of the Americans. In conclusion, my take on this, having a large proportion of the unproductive generation is a negative development and should be avoided.