Overpopulation of urban areas has led to problems. Identify the serious ones and suggest ways to tackle these problems.

With the development of the economy and industry, more than ever we are witnessing the phenomenon of urbanization. The resulting overcrowded urban areas, however, are far from being peaceful places. In fact, these are turning into hostile zones, where pollution and crime are two of the main problems. In this essay, I will assess them, alongside proposing possible solutions. Two of the most serious problems emerging from towns overpopulation are crime and pollution. More than ever, in an extremely crowded environment, young people struggle to find a stable occupation, thus devoting themselves to crime. As an example of that, the number of petty criminals, as well as that of burglars under 20 years old, is steadily increasing insofar as the growth of total inhabitants of city centres. Furthermore, urban spreading is increasing the traffic rate, since most people have to move from downtown to the centre. For example, on average, a car owner in New York spends about three hours per day in a traffic jam and that, given the sum of registered cars in the New York District, gives the idea of the total gas emissions. It is clear, therefore, that overpopulation is leading to more law violations and pollution. To tackle these issues, it will be of utmost importance to adopt further security measures together with improving the public transport. Firstly, the government should warrant police enforcement in the slums, as well as convicting criminals with heavier sentences, thus strongly reducing violence in the streets. Through these measures, for instance, in South Korea, the number of crimes has decreased by 10%. The second step, to reduce air deterioration and gas emissions, will be improving the number of railways and bus lines, alongside reducing the journeys’ delays. In this way, many workers would find it more convenient to opt for trains and buses. Individuals should, moreover, tend to prefer public transport even when uncomfortable to do their part at best to reach a superior goal. Through these interventions, the odds of improving the standards of living are quite favourable. In conclusion, while urbanization may seem a favourable condition, many issues are emerging, like street violence and environmental damage. In this essay, I assessed the causes of these problems, as well as the possible intervention to restore a good environment.