"In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?"

It is true that some places of the world still lack foodstuff and even died hungrily. Although with the development of technology, farming gets more and more advanced, I believe that several reasons beyond agriculture development cause sad consequences. There is no doubt that all the governments shall take some actions to improve for the better. To begin with, one of the main reasoning is related to ecological balance, in which people do not have enough awareness of safeguarding the ecosystem. For example, in some areas, many particular species of animals hardly can survive in their home forest or sea any longer, which breaks the food chain and even lead to food scarcity. On the other hand, with the increasing economy, some development problems are unbalanced, especially in developing countries. As a result, it causes not only environmental issues such as loss of soil and industrial pollution but also political misleading. For instance, in some states, resource allocation goes to top-tier cities to further stimulate GDP growth, leading poor cities to get into more challenging situations even without enough foodstuff. Therefore, those reasons generate vicious circles, which affect that some countries still need to face hunger and starvation. In my view, governments need to take some severe measurements. Firstly, the government shall attach great importance to environmental protection and forcefully implement all the laws and regulations against pollution. Also, involving international cooperation is conducive to tackling the problems of water and foodstuff scarcity. Secondly, some incentive policies to encourage eco-friendly enterprises and manufactories to relocate to some bad economy areas would benefit the local economy as well as the environment. Furthermore, individual efforts to save foodstuff and raise environmental awareness significantly make for better results. In conclusion, even though food scarcity has been eliminated in most regions globally, some people are still suffering from famine. There are several reasons, which are not related to the techniques of farming. Hence, all of us shall take it seriously despite the governments needing to constantly complete the appropriate regulation and enforcement to protect the environment and balance economic growth in different areas.