WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The majority of the population believes that advancing technology has brought people closer to each other while others oppose this notion. Personally, I concur with the fact that the internet has given us an opportunity to communicate with a plethora of people. However, both points of view will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, current technology has made our life much easier and convenient. For instance, social media and applications such as zoom, Facebook and Instagram are the major communicating tools that people use to chat with their long lost pals, relatives and family despite the differences in the time zone. Not only text messages but also audio calls, voice mails and video chats are also used which provides a realistic environment as we can observe the activities that the others are performing. Moreover, even if your pals are on the other end of the globe, the bonding can still be remained via chit-chatting and talking online. In addition, in the past few decades, people tend to rely on pigeons and letters to pass messages from one another. This probably takes ages to receive a message from the sender. In this way, the constantly developing society helps increase the bonding with different people around the world. On the other hand, people are so focused on electronic gadgets, that they start neglecting things that are evolving around them. They tend to spend their entire day playing games or chatting on screen rather than engaging with people from the real world. This will eventually lead to a decline in the number of people socialising and making new friends. But, I believe that the problems can be alleviated by balancing both the virtual and the outside world. To sum up, I believe that the benefits outweigh the downsides and that, it has a positive impact on our society by building a long-lasting bond with various people.