government should spend money on railways rather than roads . to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation is one of the vital sectors for any country and the government is required to spend money for its development and maintenance. There is an ongoing debate whether should transport authorities be spending more money on trains instead of road systems. I completely agree with this idea as in my view establishing well-infrastructured railway systems can omit many issues. To begin with, firstly, metros should be constructed, as this can reduce traffic density to a large extent in cities. Nowadays, people are preferring to have their own vehicles due to lack of proper public transport in relation to the time and location of the stops. For instance, if tubes are built, an increasing number of people will prefer to commute by trains thereby decreasing traffic congestion. Secondly, noise and air pollution caused by this huge traffic on roads are hazardous for public health. Subways can greatly reduce this problem, hence, helping for a cleaner environment. Thirdly, trains connecting between cities can provide a cheaper option to travel in less time. Likewise, there are some reasons why roads should be given importance too. People cannot always travel by train, for example, just for shopping or family outings. In relation to this, roads should be well maintained so as to avoid accidents and for the better safety of the people. Moreover, many folks walk on the roads to get from one place to another, so there must be the proper construction of pedestrians, footpaths, etc with useful warning signs and traffic lights to control the traffic. For example, if one of the traffic signals is not working in order then it can lead to serious accidents on roads. To conclude, according to me investing in both areas is crucial but spending more amount on the railway system is beneficial. As already mentioned it can remarkably reduce the grave concern in today's modern world owing to traffic and pollutions caused by the large number of vehicles running on the road.