In some countries, imported food is increasingly popular. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, more foreign foods are imported in some notions, becoming a popular option for consumers. However, I believe that the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits. One primary reason is the fact that imported food threatens the local agricultural industries. People are more likely to choose to purchase foreign food than local food, and thus it influences the profit of the local food industries. Moreover, a large amount of greenhouse gas is emitted, which lead to air pollution. Imported food is transported by aeroplanes and ships which emit lots of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas. This is the main cause of environmental problems. Furthermore, once people are familiar with foreign food, their eating habits will change. However, there are some benefits of this trend. To begin with, imported food provides a wide variety of choices for consumers, so local people can consume different diets every day. Secondly, food shortage in some countries might be solved by transporting foreign cuisines. Some notions have food shortage problems because of their poor agricultural development or lack of funds, and thus importing food from other countries might be an effective way to prevent the local food deficiency. By way of conclusion, although there are some advantages of imported food, I believe that the disadvantages of this trend needed more awareness of the public. Governments should focus on these issues such as threatening the local agricultural industries, greenhouse gas emissions, and changing residents' eating habits and figure out resolutions to tackle them.