Increasing number of developing countries are expanding tourist industries. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, many Third World countries are contributing to their tourism development. The tourist industry is considered the main tax revenue source of these countries. Therefore, it has many reasons to promote it. As we know, many less developed countries have sufficient unexploited natural resources, such as islands, jungles and mysterious wildlife habitats. As a developing country, opening the gate of these rare primitive natural places for visitors from all over the world is the most efficient approach to boost the country’s well-known along with increase national GDP. On positive aspects, developing tourism in not well-off regions can help society increase job opportunities and people’s income. In that case,reducing poverty and boosting economic growth is not a fantasy for less productive areas. Moreover, the exploitation of the attractive site in these countries provides access to travel lovers from all over the world to watch the diversity of culture and magnificent natural scenery, thus giving a new horizon to understand the specialty of these countries. However, some negative effects cannot be avoided because of the fragile and vulnerable features of the less exploited environment in many developing countries. The destruction of the natural environment could become more severe due to overdeveloped tourism. The construction and deforestation for developing tourist industries, the rising green gas emissions from visitors’ carbon footprints and many other human activities, bringing serious damage to the local ecosystem. As a result, it might cause irreversible effects to these countries, therefore harmful to long-term benefits. To conclude, the expansion of tourism is a positive trend to boosting economic growth in developing countries. However, the governments should have the awareness that does not overdevelop tourist industries in order to protect the precious natural resources for the long-term development of tourism.