Nowadays some people have anti-social behavior and lack respect to others. What are the reasons? What are solutions?

Anti-social and disrespectful behaviour is pervasive currently, which severely affects social stability. In this essay, two factors contributing to this phenomenon and solutions to reverse the trend will be discussed. First of all, the wide gap between rich and poor leads to rising in anti-social behaviour, as the wealth gap arouses impoverished people ’s resentful feelings. Some governments are unable to provide a comprehensive benefits system or are the lack of policies of income redistribution, thus leaving many people living on a low income. Those stricken by poverty often have to struggle with basic needs, gradually becoming hopeless and distrusting the government. As a result, they may commit offences such as destroying public facilities to vent their anger to the authorities or show hostility to society people due to their envy. Furthermore, media is another cause of disruptive behaviour. Nowadays, more news agencies tend to report sensational crime stories in order to increase their audiences, and meanwhile, increasing movies and series are willing to involve more violent images since the strong stimulation can catch people ’s eyes, which means people ’s frequent exposure to violent content. When the trend continues, people gradually recognize violence as an acceptable way of releasing negative emotions and settling conflicts, and they may view this aggressive anti-social behaviourbehaviour as symbols of cool personal characters as well, so an attempt to imitate is commonplace. Efforts from governments can tackle this problem to some extent. They can raise taxes on higher earners and make full use of them to enlarge the welfare expenses, in order to narrow the wealth disparity. In this way, the disadvantaged people can feel the care from governments and thereby comply with rules to show respect to the society from the bottom of their hearts. What’s more, governments can enhance supervision on media. For example, adding more audits on the content of film and television productions or making new policies of stricter standards of violent acts can be an effective measure. To summarize, governments and media are two main reasons resulting in the overall growth in anti-social and impolite behaviour. Governments ' actions can help address the issue.