In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

There is a phenomenon happening in some countries where citizens tend to go to large markets that are located out of town instead of going to shop in small- town centre shops. And this phenomenon leads to the small market going broke and increasing the production of cars because the public would like to go with cars. I think this phenomenon obtains more drawbacks rather than benefits. Firstly, increasing the number of cars is followed by gaining the consumption of oil. As a result, the oil industry will expand significantly in the future. Even though many people do not notice the drawbacks and tend to fulfil their needs and wishes, the enormous negative effects will happen in the near future. For instance, the small town near the capital city of West Java cannot develop properly because citizens prefer to fulfil their needs in the metropolis. Secondly, the facilities of a small town will not be developed and impact the income of the city. It is because they cannot maximise their local production. Moreover, both the city and citizens cannot be independent and will rely on the other city. To illustrate, the way to get out of this problem, the mayor has to gain the quality of local stores and provide convenient access to the public as much as possible. Communities will prefer to go shopping in the town if it can be followed with good facilities and raw material availability. To conclude, in my opinion, it is obvious that there are plenty of disadvantages rather than advantages when citizens depend on another town. Besides, it can be followed by other crucial problems.