Topic: Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is reducing the amount of maximum speed of vehicles. Others think that other ways exist. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advancement in technology mode of transportation has evolved resulting in need of safety rules. Some people opine that setting speed limit is best option to make driving safe while others opine that there are some other measures also which can be adopted. In this esaay both arguments will be discussed in detail, explaining why other methods of road safety are also important. To begin with, overspeeding is one of the major cause of accidents owing to loss of life and other damages. Thus, setting up a speed limit according to daily traffic pattern will be advantageous as it is easy to control a vehicle when it is at a lower speed. To exemplify, in Punjab, on linking roads where small roads connect with motorways speed is limited to 40 km/hour which has decreased the rate of casualties. Another school of thought says that, other measures such as following traffing rules, wearing seat belts, wearing helmets should be considered to be more safe. However, waiting at red light and allowing the traffic to pass will decrease the rate of road clashes. Furthermore, for pedestrians zebra crossing is a boon as it allows them to cross busy roads easily and safely. To sum up, limiting speed at roads alongwith, other traffic rules will collectively improve the road safety. Both, approaches go hand in hand and if followed, it will make roads safe.