With many problems of transport and accommodation in cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the high rate of urbanization in cities has led to issues related to housing and transport. To mitigate these challenges, governments are encouraging commercial establishments to shift to rural places. With these, however, there are more drawbacks, so in this essay, I will discuss why the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. To begin with, more businesses in countryside means there will be more environmental pollution. In most cases, the rivers, air and land will be polluted because of dumping of solid and liquid wastes. The reason for this is that the authorities have no adequate capacity for waste management. Lack of sewerage, for instance could be an issue thus endangering the safety and comfort of people. In addition to this, agricultural land will be lost to urban and industrial activities, and this will threaten food supply and agricultural produce required for manufacturing. Wheat, for example, harvest that is required to produce wheat flour will drastically reduce, hence affecting the supply chain. Furthermore, there will be rampant cases of insecurity as more people will move to these places in search of work. The majority of people could be unemployed thus engaging in theft and robbery. Employment opportunities, on the other hand, will be created and residents will be employed in the service and transport sector. Most people will be able to work in shops, restaurants and transport as well. As such, they will be able to improve their lives and their families. Moreover, farmers will have access to market for their produce like grains, vegetables and fruits. In most cases, these close markets will reduce the cost they incur when transporting their harvests to far markets. In summary, shifting commercial premises to the countryside will cause more problems than the benefits. It is therefore important to ensure that urban and rural activities are balanced.