Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

A controversial issue is whether the benefits of tourism fomentation to the local economy should be more validated than the drawbacks caused to the community and the environment. The paragraphs below will outline the positive and negative aspects of this trend, and conclude why I believe that encouraging tourism is better. There are two main reasons why the environment and the population are negatively impacted by an increased touristic movement. First of all, a well-known outcome discussed among urbanists is the gentrification process. More specifically, local natives whose wages are not enough to afford the readjusted prices are forced to move out of these centres to live in farther and cheaper venues, which is unfair. Moreover, another problem caused by tourists visiting is environmental damage. As a consequence of companies' production and individuals' consumption, more trash is produced proportionally, which combined with improper disposal, accumulates in the ecosystem. In stark contrast, the merits of tourism to the economy are indeed present. The main one is due to the public investment in infrastructure that helps companies to grow. For instance, investing in landscaping increases people's interest in visiting that venue and potentially spending money on local businesses. Moreover, by investing in ambience to please customers, enterprises can increase their new visitors rate which is key in a hotspot area. After all, the first impression caused by an exquisite interior design is important for future indications. To conclude, tourism has its merits and demerits. Although, in my opinion, a balance should be aimed for and reached to control local prices and environmental damage, and still encourage visiting by foreigners. Therefore, both local residents, the economy, and the ecosystem would be benefited.