Memorization of information by frequent repetition (rote learning) plays a role in most education systems. Do the advantages of this method of learning outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, many scholars often follow the trend of rote learning instead of understanding the basic foundations of knowledge. Students with deviant thoughts try to use cramming techniques to remember information. In my point of view, while people may vary in opinions, I believe that rote learning shouldn’t be encouraged for coaching institutes because of its drawbacks. Frequent repetition will emphasize important things that the brain has to memorize, but on the other hand, it won’t help people improve their skills in the course. For instance, research in the USA in 1997 showed that 46 percent of learners who do rote learning have a lack of self-confidence, a small amount of conceptual knowledge, and are unable to communicate with other pupils on a global scale. In my opinion, if the systems of education continue to allow students to do frequent repetition indiscriminately, it could have a strong impact on the social development of both citizens. Moreover, due to the lack of fundamental enlightenment, those graduates have less opportunity to be hired in companies that offer employees with more than general knowledge. In reality, various nations spent a large amount of money just to invite IT students to work for their companies, which means recruiters are seriously paying attention to the quality of employers. As a result, the scholars who just passed out the basic information by doing rote learning are limited in their opportunities for jobs. To conclude, the traditional folks can’t deny that the repetitive learning mechanisms will create many demerits that would be hard to face. Therefore, the disadvantages of those study methods have to be ignored and dealt with in a more serious way.