Write about the following topic: At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Presently, some nations have a high percentage of young adults in comparison to old people. The advantages of younger people that provide the workforce required for robust economic activities and have a lesser burden of disease for a society to support, outweigh the disadvantages of inexperience, which is more in the elderly. Young persons are playing an instrumental role by providing necessary manpower in the development of countries. They have all the characteristics namely energy, enthusiasm and passion that are pre-requisites of a healthy workforce. People in the early stages of life work hard to gain status in society and have healthy competition among same age persons. For example, Kuwait has one of the youngest populations in the world with 70 per cent below the age of 40, resultantly contribution of the younger is proportionately higher. Therefore, a younger workforce has a positive impact on the growth of a country. Furthermore, the quantum of disease is less in young as compared to the elderly which has a negative impact on economic parameters. Take for example Japan has a large share of old people in its population and it results in the expenditure of a heavy amount for the treatment of age-related health issues. This trend will negatively impact, if it continues for some more time. On the other hand, the elderly have the advantage of being more experienced in doing things and are successful professionals as they have already spent a lot of time gaining experience. For example, in my department seniors help a lot to train and develop the skills of juniors. However, the actual work is still being performed by the younger people. In conclusion, although elderly individuals help promote nurture the young generation with their experience, however the advantages of energy and healthy manpower outweigh its disadvantage of less experience.