Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many people would regard that information are the most important aspect in many sectors. In addition, people believe keeping information for their own is much more lucrative than giving it away freely to society. However, in my opinion, information that will benefit many people should be easily accessible and free. In this essay, I will try to explain why the latter statement is the better one. On the one hand, I believe that sharing information regarding classified information such as a country's military and defence information should not be on the internet where everyone could just access it. This prevents a community or group of people with malicious intentions from operating freely and being able to do damage. In that regard, information surrounding sensitive topics should be kept away from the masses. For example, if a terrorist group could find the blueprint of the White House where the United States president is located this would cause major problems to the President's safety and security. Thus, information that has a high chance of creating conflicts should be kept in a safe place. On the other hand, research about the cure of contagious diseases or other medical urgencies must be shared freely. This will help the medical world to solve a problem that has been going on in the world. For example, vaccines for the COVID-19 pandemic are too valuable to be given freely but the research group or team decided to give them away freely, looking at the positive effects of that. Thus, people should consider sharing crucial information more and not be greedy. In conclusion, the benefits of sharing information with the public far outweigh the negative aspect of not sharing it. Furthermore, people that have intentions of making profits on their own should be ashamed of their behaviour.