Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours, and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make their life easier?

It is undeniable that, in recent times, extended work hours have resulted in acute stress amongst individuals than earlier. This essay shall portray some of the causes of this phenomenon and also suggest some measures that organizations can adapt to overcome it. To begin with, these days companies strive hard to maintain their brand value in the marketplace. As a result, unrealistic deadlines are enforced on people at work. Consequently, this may result in excessive workload and extra pressure on a person trying to meet these timelines. Following this, cut-throat competition is the dominant cause of tension at workstations. Moreover, employees compete within themselves to become the best performers and achieve good appraisals and increased hikes. To do so, they indulge in extra firm initiatives to showcase their ability in front of the higher management. To achieve this, most of the population work over the weekend and in double shifts to meet their targets. For instance, 90% of the men are distressed due to working from home and being glued to their laptops. On the other hand, employers can take few steps to reduce anxiety among the wage earners. Firstly, the work burden should be reduced by evenly distributing tasks among the team members. Due to this, one might not feel over-pressurized or overburdened. Secondly, well-being programs should be conducted and sessions should be delivered emphasizing work -life balance. Factories should also encourage workmen to take some time off from work and avail their leave entitlements. For example, companies conduct tea breaks and games for making the work environment jovial. To sum up, stress caused due to prolonged work hours is of great concern. However, employers can combat it by maintaining a work -life balance and reducing workload.