Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

There is a school of thought as to children should have the sheer number of toys, in view of, this some parents provide their children with a vast array of them. In this essay, I will discuss both the downsides and the upsides of this type of possession and conclude that its problems would undermine children ’s well-being. A wide selection of toys can provide the stimulus which fosters children ’s cognitive skills, and also brain functions. children who have too many toys with different features are more likely to have a fertile imagination. Moreover, some of them, like LEGO, promote lateral thinking in children, thereby spurring children to grow into independent problem-solvers. Another positive aspect of this can be seen these days; it is important to bear in mind that if it was not for toys, children would find Covid-19 restrictions intolerable. Doing so, therefore, provide opportunities for flourishing mental health. Admittedly, possessing a bewildering array of toys seems to bring some benefits, but it can have overarching detrimental impacts on children. One of the underlying problems with this is that they would be at risk of having a short attention span. While playing with one toy, they would be distracted by others and jump from one to the next without thoroughly exploring them. As a consequence, this issue will have profound implications, such as poor performance at school or at work. There is a further drawback that very rarely do they understand the value of their toys; hence, they often take them for granted. They will, in turn, not be content with what they have already had. In fact, this overindulgence would teach children consumerism culture which can lead to lifelong problems as well. It is vitally important to consider these effects prior to purchase of excess toys In conclusion, notwithstanding a number of advantages of owning a great variety of toys, there is a high likelihood that children ’s mindset and mental health are being adversely affected by this, and it is of paramount importance to not overlook them.