Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Nowadays, people have different choices of residential dwellings by virtue of the growing population and urbanisation. Some people opt to reside in an apartment as it is believed that it compares favourably with living in a house, while others favour dwelling in a house over the former. In this essay, I will discuss the plus points and the drawbacks to both options and take the view that the choice depends on individual preferences. The substantial benefits of living in a house are tranquillity and spaciousness. people, especially those who have children, tend to live in a house on the grounds that it broadly offers them more space, such as a yard. Another positive aspect is they do not have upstairs or downstairs neighbours, nor do they share a wall with next doors. Their peace does not bear comparison with that of apartment dwellers on that account. Notwithstanding these advantages, there are some downsides. House maintenance costs can be high and therefore put a burden on dwellers. Not only that, greater accessibility presents more opportunities to offenders, which in turn can spell danger, and consequently inhabitants would be prone to property crime. In contrast, A definite advantage of living in a flat is its low maintenance expenses, which appeals to most people as they find it cost-effective. Moreover, the close proximity of neighbours in a multi-unit dwelling is a great safety benefit, with neighbours being better able to hear if an unlawful act, such as burglary, is perpetrated. On the downside, in addition to the inadequacy of privacy, there is limited access to daylight. As daylight plays an important role in enhancing the health and wellbeing of people, occupants inside an apartment have insufficient access to this. Therefore, there is a high risk of them suffering health problems associated with the lack of sunshine, for example, depression. In conclusion, it is impossible to say whether the advantages of residing in a house outweigh the benefits of living in a flat, either side of the case can be preferable to individuals.