Q. The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Many scientists have proved that smoking is dangerous to the health of humans as it can cause cancer, strokes and heart diseases. Consequently, this habit should be banned in public even though it restricts the freedom of a small fraction of society who picked up this habit. I strongly agree with the aforementioned notion and this essay will put forth supporting arguments with relevant examples. One of the prominent reasons to ban smoking in common places is that it releases toxic chemicals and gases such as carbon monoxide, tar, nicotine etcetera, which has a long-term effect on passive smokers as well as the environment. These hazardous compounds can negatively affect the cardiothoracic system of the human body, which proves to be dangerous for children and people suffering from diseases such as asthma, coronavirus, etcetera. To illustrate, according to the report published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in the U. S. has found that since 1964, approximately 2.5 million adults who were non-smokers have died because of their exposure to second -hand smoke. Hence, to mitigate the health risk caused by smoking, it is of utmost importance to ban such activity in public. Furthermore, there are a plethora of school-going children who try to imitate the behaviour of elderly people without being aware of its consequences. As a result, there are probable chances that young adults may pick up the smoking habit from their seniors at an early stage. For instance, a study conducted by American Lung Association reported that 25 per cent of high school students use tobacco-related products as they were found to have been influenced by their parents who smoke at home. Therefore, smoking practice influences kids and should be prohibited. To conclude, although a certain fraction of the population might feel that prohibiting smoking in common areas might take away their freedom, I strongly believe that it would be the most appropriate step and is necessary to protect our future generation.