Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most adolescents in developing and developed countries attend high school education. Some argue that they should contribute to society by spending their leisure doing a community work and not getting any payment for this. To some extent, I disagree with this opinion. In the milestones of human development, adolescence is a unique period when one is not considered a child anymore but not yet seen and treated as an adult. A previous study on developmental psychology showed that it is when we acquire abstract thinking capability and hence start to realise our existence and purpose in life. With this, I argue that the time a teenager spent both in school and outside school should be focused on exploring his / her interests and developing skills that will be needed in the future. Although a community work may help this, a teenager should be given the flexibility to choose on how he / she wants to do it. Doing extracurricular activities at school, joining a paid internship program at a workplace, and participating a certain competition of his / her choices are several of many examples of how an adolescent could spend his / her extra time productively. In addition, having a choice is something that teenagers value a lot as they also start to develop independence. However, the fact that some of these teenagers do not engage in such activities cannot be neglected. They may, for example, involve in a delinquent action. In this circumstance, obligatory community work would help them re-align their purposes while benefiting society. In conclusion, an unpaid community activity is not a bad thing, but a teenager should be able to decide for him / herself whether or not they want to spend their free time doing it.