Some people think the newly built houses should be the same as the old house style in local areas. Others argue that local authorities should allow people to build houses in their own styles. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over decades, there has been a significant change in people ’s attitudes towards the way houses are built. While there are some people who lean towards houses following the similar traditional style of their neighbourhoods, others still hold the view that people should be free to create their own houses. From my perspective, I support the latter idea and I will discuss it in more detail. On the one hand, it is reasonable that many residents choose to have the houses built in the same styles for the purpose of their local tradition’s preservation. To illustrate, there are some places that acquire a reputation for being hysterical or representing a period of time in the past such as Hoi An - a famous city in Vietnam. This is why citizens have to keep the old style of houses to create a unique accommodation which attracts a lot of tourists visiting their hometown. This can not only be regarded as a way to retain their meaningful traditions but also bring them greater choices of jobs when it comes to tourism. Moreover, it can make equality between neighbours since their houses remain the same in spite of their different life statuses, which can avoid jealousy and hatred. On the other hand, I side with those who advocate that people should have the right to customize their own places. First of all, houses are based on different faces and favours of different kinds of people. Furthermore, wealthy people are likely to afford bigger and more modern houses than others. Consequently, a house also relates to its owner status and income. Needless to say, people in this day and age require houses with more modern facilities such as pools, playgrounds or gardens. People would feel uncomfortable with old and traditional types of houses which cannot meet their demands. In conclusion, although both ideas have different advantages, I still believe that local authorities should not set a limit on residents’ houses.