Nowadays parents are sending their children on trips abroad for educational purposes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, the trend of parents sending their children abroad to study has become more apparent than ever before. Although several children were depressed due to some circumstances during their trip, I categorically believe there are many benefits that they will gain from this once-of-a-lifetime experience. According to the survey which was conducted in Chulalongkorn University, undergraduate students who have been to an academic trip admit that after they went through this arduous journey, these individuals are more capable of adjusting with other people's lifestyles. This is due to the fact that these students got exposed to new cultures; as they were required to live with a host family, skill of adjustment will be vital for them. Moreover, when they go to school, they also get a chance to meet new foreign friends. As a result, it will be much easier to learn the language from these people who speak English as a first language and will make them learn slangs or informal phrases that they might not get a chance to learn in their classes. However, there are some barns which students could suffer from on this trip. From the reason that students have to go to the foriegn country alone, they might suffer “culture shock”: state of being in the unfamiliar place for a period of time and will make them tired and sick all the time. Moreover, varieties of international students are sent to other countries in order to improve their language skills. Considering my Japanese friend Yumiko, for example, having a tough accent as well as being timid when talking to native english speakers, she gots asked by friends and teachers all the time because they couldn't understand what she has said. This language barrier led to frustration because she couldn’t express herself fully compared to the time she spoke Japanese. In conclusion, I think travelling to other countries for learning purposes can have both upside and downside depending on individual experience. However, I suggest that if people can afford to go on the trip, they shouldn't miss out on the chance. From my experience, though I faced many challenges and difficulties when I was in New Zealand for a summer trip, I got so many friends and developed my communication skills which I have never thought I could do before in my home country.