Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Over the past few years, obtaining energy from the sun gains more popularity on a global scale. Myriad factors are leading to the use of solar power, in which, merits and demerits were also controversial among people. These matters will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, there most salient reason for solar energy to be renowned is its sustainability. This source of energy is often reinforced by many scientists for the long-term yield in generating electrics. Different from non-perpetual sources of energy such as fossil or nuclear, the Sun has been seen as one of the most reliant energy generators that would not deplete the current state of nature. For example, a plethora of extracting energy from nuclear has been widely objected to by the heavy consequence it imposes on the environment and the potential threat to the safety of workers as well as nearby locals. Once a nuclear plant is exploded, a colossal amount of radiation would be emitted, consequently, deteriorating bio-cells in the human body. As a result, many countries have taken solar as precedence over conventional forms of power to avoid haphazard human beings. Whether there are underlying factors to be discussed about the popularity, advantages of using the Sun as a root of energy should also be regarded. Firstly, solar energy would be beneficial for those nations that are entirely inland since other methods of generating renewable energy such as wind cannot be implemented. For example, in countries that are surrounded by desserts such as some in the Middle East, it would be more flexible to generate energy through the cover of the Sun because reliance on the sea is hardly obtainable. As substantial as it may seem, conducting solar energy remains some drawbacks. The construction cost of solar plants is exorbitant. Solar panels and other solar-related components will be costly to maintain and subsidize. Several plantations of solar energy could be taxed up to billion dollars, an enormous fixed cost for investment. Another demerit that is worth mentioning is the discard of solar batteries to the ocean. Some irresponsible solar enterprises have illegally released their used solar batteries to the seashore, which consequently depletes and backfires the initial aiming of saving the environment. To conclude, solar energy has been recognized by its sustainable profile. Like every other source of energy, solar power can be seen to be beneficial in some perspectives such as generating great amount of electric. On the other hand, solar energy can potentially cause some disadvantages in the cost of maintenance or the illegal act of companies.