Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In these recent years, there have been alternatives in the imposition of laws for workers, these changes were due to several judicial and social factors. Whether there are still oppositions in the adjustment, I am fully convicted that these bring advancement to the labour workforce to many extents. To begin with, the most prominent factor leading to the limitation of working periods is the avoidance of exploitation in the workforce that happened in the past. Formerly, history has witnessed many public outcries regarding injustice in the workplace, a plethora of farmers had been heavily afflicted by the spiteful act of landowners. As a result, successful movements were going against the abuse of power, and the Labor Day of May 1st was recognized because of that. Therefore, organizing working hours sufficiently could be served as a prevention from breaching labour rules. Secondly, the impediment of extensive working hours is to ensure the maintenance of social relationships. If unlimited working periods were to be implemented, many people would find it challenging to balance their work and life, hence, upheavals in human connections would be inevitable and destructible. The obvious advancement of limiting working durations is the physical well-being of employees. Due to the existential heavy workload, many white collars must sacrifice their time of sleeping to accomplish requirements from the board. On the one hand, sleep deprivation results in deficiency of physical health and mental health such as depression and anxiety, leading to lower work performance. Therefore, setting an upper limit of working hours would benefit not only employees but also the general performance of a company. One merit of working limitedly that worth mentioning is the appropriateness of some industry nature. For example, many university students take up jobs to earn money simultaneously with their current study, hence, the limitation of work shifts would help learners spare time to study and would not adversely affect school schedules. To conclude, alternative as limiting working period is a result of many factors, ranging from history to the current impact of society. Whether it is still being debated over the advantages, it should be recognized about the credits of maintaining well-being physically and mentally, as well as giving the balance between study and work for some undergraduates.