A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at companies or organisations as part of their programs. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Today, university education implores students to take a free workmanship programme in a company at least once a year. For many, such development should be encouraged. However, others are in opposition to it. In this essay, I will delve into the benefits and drawbacks. Participating in an unsalaried service in an organisation is a life-changing experience as there are numerous advantages stemming from it. On a personal level, it helps to nurture an individual into being responsible. Take Newcastle University, for instance, they have managed to necessitate voluntary summer internship programmes. As a result, most of its pupils become mature quickly taking up leadership positions and in whatever group they find themselves in, they always stand out. In addition to this, from a company’s perspective, having volunteers helps to improve their reputation. To further illustrate, a survey was carried out at Redcross and the report indicates that the true backbone of the company is the public health students who volunteered to be a part of such a movement. Because of this, they have ascertained positive growth globally. On the other hand, notable disadvantages come from engaging in unpaid duties. One of the most significant downsides is the disrespect it comes with. In an establishment that lacks structure, they tend to misuse the assistance unpaid staff are providing. For example, in Nigeria, so many medical electives interns complained stating that they are not learning anything, and all the senior authorities view them as errand boys and girls. This motive might lead to the discouragement of such hospitals from getting students. Furthermore, there are notions of youth implementing that they rather use their free time to engage in something more rewarding. The reason for this is that not everyone gets sponsored by their guardians, hence they have to source their tuition fee any spare chance they get, thus the idea of having an unrewarding job seems purposeless. To conclude, advocating unpaid jobs for students can be a controversial topic. While it can serve as a means to groom independence and recognition, it can also be abused and be perceived as a waste of time.